Entries are closed, stay tuned for nomination announcements.


All entries must be submitted through the online portal.

  • Once you start your submission(s), you can edit it as many times as you want until you hit the “Submit Entry” button. You will not be able to make changes after you submit your entries. You will not be able to edit or post new submissions after the deadline.
  • Video submissions must be posted on YouTube or Vimeo. You will need to provide a link to your video and a 30-second clip of your video, which will be played in the event the entry in a finalist.  For entries that involve print or promotional items, feel free to include pdfs, photographs, videos, or other electronic presentations that best present your entry.
  • Multiple entries are accepted in any category, however an entry may only place once (1st, 2nd, or 3rd) in a given category.
  • When you are filling out the entry form online, you will have two text boxes to fill in on the first page: Description and Summary.  Use these text boxes to include any goals, impacts or outcomes, and what was achieved. You will also be required to add a brief, one- or two-sentence description of the submission that will be used in the TAMI Awards banquet, should your work be recognized.


Visit the Categories page to learn more.

Submission Deadline

The TAMI Award submission deadline is 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, March 17, 2024. No extensions will be given! If you plan to pay by check, be sure to enter early.  All checks must be received no later than March 18 or your entry will not be judged. Learn more on the Cost and Deadline page. 


  • Eligibility — Both TAMIO members and non-members are eligible to submit entries. Entries must be submitted by any city/county government/division, or any government support agency involved in providing local services (for example, transportation authorities, public utilities, and regional councils of government). Entries produced on or after January 1, 2022, are eligible for submission. Current TAMIO members are eligible for the member rate entry fees.  Entries must be submitted electronically by 11:59 p.m. on March 17, 2024.
  • Judging Process/Criteria — Judging will be conducted primarily by government communications professionals from the state of California, and coordinated by TAMIO members. Judges have the right to disqualify any entry that does not comply with guidelines, including submissions with unpaid entries.  All judging comments will be emailed to applicants after the 2024 TAMIO Annual Conference.  Summary of Judging Criteria
  • Finalist Notification — Finalists will be notified by the week of May 6.  Award entries will be divided into multiple divisions based on city population if sufficient entries are received in a specific category to warrant multiple awards.
  • Awards Presentation — The TAMI Award winners will be announced Thursday, June 6 during dinner at the 2024 TAMIO Annual Conference in San Antonio. Finalists will be asked to confirm their attendance at the dinner. Those not attending the TAMIO Annual Conference can purchase individual dinner tickets for the awards presentation. Award winners not able to attend the dinner or have a co-worker attend in their absence must arrange for shipping of the award at their own expense.

Statement of Original Work

To enhance the integrity of the TAMI Awards, entrants are required to acknowledge a Statement of Original Work prior to submitting their project. An optional field allows organizations to give credit to any outside work that served as the inspiration for their project and a place to describe how they made it their own. While we often find inspiration from each others’ work, the TAMI Awards aim to recognize ideas and work that are substantially original in nature.

View the TAMIO Plagiarism Allegation Review Process.