Communicator of Distinction Award Winners

The Cheryl A. Soward Communicator of Distinction Award

Designed to honor the best and the brightest in the field of government communications, the Cheryl A. Soward Communicator of Distinction Award recipient is selected by the TAMIO Board. The Board chooses an individual who is a government communication professional, public information officer, and/or administrator who has excelled in the communication field.

A former television reporter and anchor, Cheryl A. Soward was named the director of public information for the City of Corpus Christi in 2002. In a relatively short municipal government career, she amassed a wealth of expertise through membership and participation in TAMIO and 3CMA. Cheryl was a member of the TAMIO Board of Directors when she lost her battle with leukemia in 2006. The Cheryl A. Soward Communicator of Distinction Award was created to remember and honor Cheryl’s life and career and to encourage the level of participation, education, networking, and enthusiasm for her profession that she brought to her membership in TAMIO.

Amy Sprinkles

Winners listed in order by year.
Year Name City
2023 Amy Sprinkles City of Grand Prairie
2023 Dorothy White, CPC City of Garland
2022 Jay Socol, CPC City of College Station
2021 Will Hampton City of Round Rock
2020 Tom Bryson, CPC City of Farmers Branch
2019 Belinda Willis, CPC City of Mansfield
2013 Dr. Laura Bright
Dr. Jacqueline Lambiase
Texas Christian University
Texas Christian University
2012 Sharon Logan, CPC City of Coppell